Princely Masques and Revels: dancing and the Stuart Masque – Downloadable book and CD


Back to shop Category:

Princely Masques and Revels: dancing and the Stuart Masque

Available as digital download only.  Note that the book is supplied in PDF format and the CD tracks are supplied in MP3 format.

Book and CD compiled for the 1991 Dolmetsch Historical Dance Society Summer School, which explored the masque Oberon (1611). The 82 page book contains an introduction to the sources, dances and music, a glossary of steps and descriptions of 12 dances with music notations, as well as music notations for 5 further dances from the masque.  Researched and compiled by Anne Daye, Judy Smith and Ian Gatiss

The accompanying CD is performed by The Broadside Band: Jeremy Barlow (Director) recorders, virginals, regal, Alastair McLachlan violin, Rosemary Thorndycraft bass viol, George Weigand cittern, guitar, lute, mandore.

Contents and CD tracklist:

  1. The Queen’s Currand
  2. Harreis Galyiard
  3. Branvill of Poictu
  4. Ballo fatto da sei Dame
  5. Ballo fatto da sei Cavalieri
  6. Il Pastor Leggiadro
  7. La Catena D’Amore
  8. Passo e Mezzo
  9. Brando di Cales
  10. Il Canario
  11. Il Furioso in Ottavo
  12. Chiaranzana
  13. The Satyrs’ Masque *
  14. The Fairy Masque *
  15. The First of the Prince’s *
  16. The Second of the Prince’s *
  17. The Third of the Prince’s *
  • No dance notations in book.

All rights reserved, public performance or broadcasting without permission is prohibited. When used for teaching, recognition must be given to The Historical Dance Society. ℗ & © 1991 The Historical Dance Society